History | Company Members | Victor Award | Our Studio | Contact | Video Archive

Victor Award

2003 recipient, Perry Cavitt

In memory of our Founding Director, Victor Podagrosi, an annual award has been established to honor individuals and organizations who have demonstrated outstanding commitment, generosity, and/or service to Child's Play Touring Theatre and the arts community.

Each year, at the International Showcase of Performing Arts for Young People, Child's Play awards an International Victor Award to children's theatre companies who show excellence in their ability to interact with sponsors in a prompt, efficient and compatible manner, and who demonstrate a positive attitude toward their art.

Past recipients are:

Year: Performance/Company: Country: Website:
1998 Ballet Folklorico Mexico
1999 Visible Fictions Scotland
2000 The Young Americans USA
2001 Martha Scotland
2002 Goodnight Opus, Mermaid Theatre Ontario, Canada
2003 Shona Reppe Puppets Ontario, Canada
2004 Hansel and Gretal, Theatre Sans Fil Quebec, Canada
2005 Snowflake, LaJoye Productions USA
2006 Hamlet, Det lille Turneteater The Netherlands
2007 Wolf!, Huis aan de Amstel The Netherlands
2008 Pero, Speeltheatre Holland The Netherlands
2009 The Man Who Planted Trees, Puppet State Theatre Company Scotland
2010 Shopping for Shoes, Visible Fictions Scotland

The Victor Award is also awarded locally each year to individuals and companies who have shown a strong commitment to Child’s Play and to working with the arts. Past recipients include:

1997 - Tammy Steele, Marcia Lipetz

1998 - Janet Brooks, Jasculca/Terman and Associates, Inc.

1999 - Andy Laities, Illinois Arts Council

2000 - Tammy Walker, City of Chicago, Department of Cultural Affairs

2001 - Child's Play Touring Theatre Awarded by Illinois Theatre Association

2002 - Richard A. Devine, State's Attorney

2003 - Perry Cavitt

2004 - Kraft Foods, Inc., Deborah Bricker, Albert Goodman

2006 - Sondra Healy, Bernard Garbo, Jo-Ella Podagrosi-Spratt, Gigi Faraci

2007 - Darrell Barber, Eve Moran, Steve Scott, Bella Itkin – Lifetime Achievement Award

2008 - Nicole Rohr Lewis, Kevin Gates

2009 - George Bliss, Kathy Bliss, Vito Gioia

2010 - Jim Coates, Mara Georges, Sharon Thomas Parrott